Create a Meal

FAQs

What does kosher mean?

Simply put, foods that are kosher are foods that are allowed according to biblical tradition which have been slaughtered humanely and appropriately according to ancient law. Kosher foods do not include shellfish, pork, or any preparation that combines milk and meat foods together in one dish.

For a more detailed answer, go to
http://www.ou.org/kosher/kosherqa/food.htm

What do Milk, Meat and Pareve mean after a recipe title?

Milk means that the recipe contains milk or milk products such as butter, most margarines or cheese.

Meat means that the recipe contains chicken, turkey, beef, veal, or lamb as one of its ingredients

Pareve means that the recipe contains neither milk nor meat products. Fish that has scales, eggs, soy milk and other vegetable derivatives are neutral and may be used with either milk or meat products according to most commonly practiced forms of Kashrut (keeping kosher).

How do I search for a recipe?

You may enter the name of the course (appetizer, dessert etc.), major ingredient (chicken, eggplant etc.) or milk, meat, or pareve to narrow down your search.

Do I have to be Jewish to cook these recipes?

NO! Many people buy kosher products because they feel that they are healthier, safer (supervision prevents unwanted additives accidently contaminating the food) and don’t contain steroids and other products to make the food appear more desirable.

Many cooks look for recipes that are kosher if they are lactose intolerant knowing that a recipe that says it is Meat or Pareve won’t contain any milk products. And, many of my students and readers are not Jewish but come to me for recipes that they know will be delicious and come out looking and tasting just as I had promised.